From Iskomunidad
Revision as of 10:33, 20 November 2012 by Rsmoralejo (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

Impuni-tree, UP College of Mass Communication's tree planting ceremony to mark the years of injustice on Ampatuan case. This will be held on Nov. 21, 2012, 9:00 am. Meeting place is at CMC veranda. Color scheme is red.

UP CMC vows to never forget the Ampatuan Massacre

November 23, 2012

As a community of educators and students, we in the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) join journalists and media workers in remembering what must not be forgotten!

November 23 marks not just the third year of the Ampatuan massacre but also the second year of the International Day to End Impunity (IDEI). As the whole world remembers the death of 58 people, including 32 journalists and media workers, we strongly encourage all communication and journalism educators and students to also lend their voice in seeking justice for the victims and in denouncing the culture of impunity.

Educators and students are strongly encouraged to actively participate in changing the media landscape, especially in a situation where the number of those killed continues to increase. Data from the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP) show that 154 journalists have been killed in the line of duty since 1986. This represents an average of six deaths every year in the past 26 years.

Only last November 8, radio broadcaster Julius Cauzo (DWJJ-Nueva Ecija) was gunned, who was known for his commentaries on local politics and politicians. Based on NUJP data, Cauzo is the 14th killed since President Benigno S. Aquino III assumed office and the fifth one in 2012.

The killings continue unabated as the culture of impunity persists. Journalists continue to be silenced permanently as no mastermind has been brought to justice since 1986.

The Ampatuan massacre in November 2009 highlights the brazen manner in which human rights violations are committed in the Philippines. With the holding of the national and local elections in May 2013, it is imperative for the Aquino administration to ensure that the conduct will be peaceful and orderly to avoid killings and other forms of election-related violence.

As the world commemorates what should not be forgotten, we in the UP CMC will continue to promote and uphold press freedom.

Let it not be said that our commitment is only confined to the annual commemoration of the IDEI. Our commitment, after all, rests on our mission to continue to support the legitimate call of journalists and media workers in seeking justice for the victims, putting a stop to the killings and in ending the culture of impunity.

COLLEGE EXECUTIVE BOARD Dean Roland B. Tolentino Prof. Randy Jay C. Solis, College Secretary Dr. Florinda D.F. Mateo, Chair Communication Research Department Prof. Jane O. Vinculado, Officer-in-Charge, Broadcast Communication Department Prof. Lucia P. Tangi, Officer-in-Charge, Journalism Department Prof. Patrick F. Campos, Director Office of Research and Extension

Prof. Luis V. Teodoro, former Dean and Professorial Lecturer

BROADCAST COMMUNICATION FACULTY Dr. Eulalio R. Guieb III Dr. Elizabeth L. Enriquez Prof. Rosa Maria T. Feliciano Prof. Josefina C. Santos Prof. Fernando A. Austria, Jr.

COMMUNICATION RESEARCH FACULTY Dr. Elena E. Pernia Dr. Jose R. Lacson, Jr. Dr. Lourdes M. Portus Prof. Maria Rosel S. San Pascual Prof. Julienne Thesa Y. Baldo

JOURNALISM Prof. Danilo A. Arao Ms. Teresa Congjuico

UP FILM INSTITUTE Prof. Anne Marie G. De Guzman Prof. Libay Linsangan Cantor Prof. Jose C. Gutierrez III

LECTURERS Ms. Marinela M. Aseron Ms. Melba S. Estonilo Ms. Twink Macaraig Mr. Nelson Cruz Mr. Jedd Chris Dumaguina

STAFF Gina Villegas Clarissa Concepcion Norma Dampil Armando Hirao Rosalita Burlat Nanette Cinco Fernando Borjal Irene Sia Jamela Tolentino Alex Tamayo Regina Mendez Virginia Cuyugan Lalaine Palacio Irene Verona

GRADUATE STUDENTS Ohrelle Kim Marcelo, Chair, UPCMC Graduate Student Association Jeff Ragragio Jae Ramos Joseph Navarro Evelyn Katigbak Febbie Alacapa Dana Mengote Bene De Ramos Grace Gato Boots Liquigan May Gordoncillo

STUDENTS Mario Urrutia III, Chair, UPCMC Student Council Robert James De Roque Judy Ann Espiritu Wacky Torres Jena Talavera Janine Crisanto Angelo de Jesus Jeffrey Chua Pauline Villarica Alex Malco James Leocadio Demi Dangla Princess Bugayong Gabriel Abeleda Kaye Enriquez H. Crescens Tadili Denis Correa JM Elimanco Horace Cimafranca Camille De Castro Margie Alberto Cathrina Maulion Brian Galor Jaoana Rizza Bagano Camille Dawn Fabreno Cathleen Luteria Miguel Karaan Noah Loyola Beni Salonga Angel Calle Christian Angelo Manuel Demerie Dangla Paula Mae Ceracas Christine Jesalva Tessalonica Gayanes Andi Cabiling Blessie Javier Geraldine Clemente Gelina Bangon James Gasara Jonas Reyes Enzo Vidal