UPVSB ALUMNI NEWS vol. 2017 No. 14

UPVSB bags back-to-back Championship at the 18th PANAnaw Awards

The UP Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business (VSB) emerged as champion in the Philippine Association of National Advertisers Foundation's (PANAF) 18th PANAnaw Awards held at the Philippine Trade Training Center in Pasay City on 11 November 2017. The team won the championship trophy, individual medals and PHP 75,000 cash prize. Since the competition's inception, the School has won the championship nine times. This marks the third series of back-to-back successes for VSB after winning last year.

The PANAnaw Awards is an integrated marketing communications (IMC) intercollegiate competition organized by PANAF. This year's competition called on teams to build a two yearlong, single-minded advocacy campaign to strengthen Philippine arts and culture through the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), with a budget of only PHP 5 million. The VSB team's Kwentuhang Art2Art envisioned a country united under an appreciation of Philippine arts and culture and sharply targeted millennials who constantly sought validation on social media. The campaign introduced a central online database of Philippine art that encouraged millennials to be influencers and advocates for all forms of local art they favored, increasing exposure and understanding among their peers. The team's presentation was praised for its in-depth research on art's value to culture, engaging online and on-ground components of the campaign and development of executions in line with NCCA's vision.

The campaign was presented by BSBA and BSBAA seniors Maria Helena A. Badiola, Alexander Matthew S. Dy Juanco, Andrew Justin D. Escay, Monica Beatrice A. Morales, Rhema Victoria S. Que, Laurenz Carlo G. Salindong and Marielle Mae S. Tan. Completing the champion team are Nicole Regina H. Chiong, Kenneth Harold N. Fontela, Gabriel Martin C. Herrera-Lim, Bettina Anne O. Songco and Joshua Timothy A. Sonza. Assistant Professor Luis Diego D. Lee served as team coach and adviser.



(From L-R): 1st row: Prof. Luis Diego Lee, Laurenz Carlo Salindong, Maria Helena Badiola, Kenneth Harold Fontela, Andrew Justin Escay, Rhema Victoria Que, Monica Beatrice Morales and Marielle Mae S. Tan. 2nd row: Department Chair Dr. Ma. Gloria Talavera, College Secretary Prof. Manuel Manuel III, Alexander Matthew S. Dy Juanco, Gabriel Martin Herrera-Lim, Bettina Anne Songco, Nicole Regina Chiong and Joshua Timothy Sonza.